Skip Navigation
Illinois Attorney General Kwame Raoul
Home | Careers | Press Room | Opinions | Español | Other Languages | Contact Us

December 18, 2017


As Holiday Recess Approaches, Madigan, 19 AGs Urge Congress To Pass A Clean DREAM Act; Stress Need to Ensure That Dreamers Can Continue To Thrive Without Fear of Deportation

Chicago — As Congress approached its holiday recess, Attorney General Lisa Madigan joined with 19 other attorneys general today and released a statement urging Congress to pass the DREAM Act before adjourning.

The statement reads:

“As our states’ chief legal officers, we urge Congress to pass the DREAM Act before adjourning for the holidays. Congress must act to address the status of the youth and young adults who were brought into our country as children and who now live, work and attend school in our communities. These ‘Dreamers’ are law-abiding residents who have passed extensive background checks, are employed, pay taxes and volunteer in countless ways to enrich our states. They are parents, community leaders, homeowners, and founders of businesses.

“In addition to individuals who are currently losing their DACA status as Congress deliberates, come March, thousands of individuals will begin to lose their DACA protections daily.

“As fellow leaders entrusted by the voters to protect the health, safety and well-being of our states’ residents, we ask members of Congress to address this critically important matter without further delay, as you have repeatedly committed to do, to ensure that Dreamers can continue to thrive without fear of deportation.”

In July, Madigan and 19 attorneys general called upon President Trump to save the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program that required extensive background checks and protects from deportation nearly 800,000 undocumented immigrants who were brought to the United States as children.

Following the administration’s announcement in September it would end the DACA program, Madigan and 15 attorneys general filed suit in New York federal court to stop this action by the administration.

Joining Madigan in signing on to the statement were the attorneys general of California, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia and Washington.


Return to December 2017 Press Releases

go to top of page

© 2018 Illinois Attorney General HomePrivacy Policy Contact Us