Skip Navigation
Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan
Home | Careers | Press Room | Opinions | Español | Other Languages | Contact Us

October 30, 2017


Madigan & 32 Attorneys General Send Bipartisan Letter in the Wake of Las Vegas Shooting

Chicago — Attorney General Lisa Madigan, along with a bipartisan group of 32 other attorneys general, today sent a letter urging Congress to close a loophole in current federal gun laws that allows for the purchase of bump stock devices – plastic or metal pieces attached to a firearm’s stock that increase the ability to fire like a fully automatic weapon – that may be used to evade the current laws restricting machineguns.

In the bipartisan letter, Madigan and the attorneys general cite the role bump stocks played in the recent Las Vegas massacre. It has been widely reported that the Las Vegas gunman modified otherwise lawful semi-automatic rifles with bump stocks to kill 58 people and injure hundreds more. The attorneys general urge Congress to evaluate whether bump stocks should be regulated like machineguns in order to protect residents from the dangers posed by unrestricted fully automatic weapons.

Since 1986 when Congress enacted the Firearm Owners Protection Act to amend the Gun Control Act of 1968, fully automatic weapons and machineguns have been restricted, making it unlawful for civilians to possess a machinegun unless the firearm was acquired prior to the Act’s effective date.

According to the letter, bump stocks can allow a semi-automatic rifle to “mimic fully automatic machinegun fire and therefore lead to disastrous consequences in the wrong hands.” Madigan and the other attorneys general also urge Congress to “carefully consider whether bump stocks have created a loophole in the machinegun laws” when considering any news laws.

Joining Madigan in sending today’s letter are the attorneys general of Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia and Wisconsin.


Return to October 2017 Press Releases

go to top of page

© 2018 Illinois Attorney General HomePrivacy Policy Contact Us